Day 5 – Be Brief

Day Five: Be Brief

Today’s Prompt: You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.

letterrr

I just remember thinking: I was going to be late for work.

The letter was wedged between a couple of bricks on my usual way to work. Worse for wear. My eyes squinted in the spring sunshine trying to read the faded words. It wasn’t in an envelope, that I could see.

I knew it wasn’t for me. There was a curve to the writing, an uncertainty that the words spoke.

The sun rises, and sets with you.

I looked up at the rising sun burning lightly through the hanging leaves above me.

It’s been ten years. And my sun has not risen since. 

I held my throat.

All I want…is for you to be happy. 

But, I also, selfishly, want to be happy with you. I want to stand tiny against your side, ruffle your hair like you love to hate, and for me to always be late to our dates. 

I was paralyzed.

But I was too late. 

I will always be too late. 

And I was late for work.

10 thoughts on “Day 5 – Be Brief

  1. I agree – the transition from narrator to the writer of the letter is beautifully done! I love the element of mystery, and the arrangement of your words lent a lovely poetic feel to this piece! Fab!

    Like

  2. Oh you got me with this:

    “The sun rises, and sets with you.

    It’s been ten years. And my sun has not risen since.”

    My heart fluttered & I said aloud “awwwww”.

    Who wouldn’t want to hear those words?

    Hopeful Romantic,

    e

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

