Curly Sue.

Ever since I was born, I’ve had thick hair.

I was a bald baby, but when my hair started to grow…it came in thickfast.

The curls came in when I was seventeen. They took a while to bounce up, and my long thick hair to turn into ringlets.

My hair has stayed mostly the same, with minor changes – at eighteen, I had no fringe, all thickness and curl. I was trying to work out how to manage it – what shampoos, conditioners, product. It was a lot to take in, and let’s just say, bad hair days happened frequently.

At 21 I decided to get a fringe, straight across a la Zooey Deschanel. I loved it, but I realised that that kind of fringe suits certain face shapes. It didn’t suit mine!

At 22, the straight across my forehead fringe slowly morphed into a side fringe. It has stayed this way ever since.

I recently cut it short. Because I cut it short…my curls bounce up! I’m not used to it, so I’ve been straightening it everyday.

I’ve been thinking that I need to embrace my curls. What’s the point in having ’em, if I’m just going to straighten them away? So tonight, I supplied myself with hair ties, bobby pins to have a play around with styles and didn’t straighten my hair…! I looked up YouTube videos re: hairstyles for curly hair, & this tutorial is by far my favourite.

In a post soon to come, I’ll show you my attempts at these wonderful hair styles!

IMG_6011

(excuse my dirty mirror!)

Hope you all had an amazing weekend!

I ate a lot of chocolate, watched movies and laughed, a lot.

x

4 thoughts on “Curly Sue.

Leave a Reply

