LON-DON (calling).

london4

About three months ago, after a lot of deliberation, I decided I am going to move to London.
In September.

It has been dream for years to travel to the UK & Europe, but I have been putting it off.

For what? The indecision. Did I want to just do a trip? Did I want to work? Did I even want to go to London? What about Canada? Am I making the right decision?

My first decision: I’ll go in December. It’ll give me about a year to save!

Buuut, my fixed-term job ends in August. So, if I was to go in December, I’d be jobless for a few months. Eeeep! So, I’m going. SEPTEMBER. Packing my bags, selling my things, and heading off into the unknown.

I’m embarking on a journey by myself, across the world, to find a job, a house, a life, and explore. I am more excited, and more nervous than I can say. This is huge.

It’s huge for me, because I made that decision myself.

Okay, it’s not that I can’t make decisions myself, because I can, but the idea of travelling alone is scary. And I have spent years waiting for other people to help me, or to help make my decisions for me.

That’s what made it appealing. I decided one day that I was going to do it. I told my parents. I told my team leader at work. My friends, slowly. Everyone was supportive, and excited. It made it all the more real for me. I was going.

Saving – probably the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do! But currently in saving mode, and I keep thinking: regardless of how much I have saved, I’m going.

Because I’ve already booked le ticket! Flying Emirates to Sydney–Dubai–London.

This past year or so has been hard at times. I’ve learnt a lot about myself, both good and bad and emotionally I’ve been a roller coaster. I think what I needed was an escape. A place to just be me for a while.

New scenery. Different people. Challenges. History. Sights. Harry Potter studio tours (yes yes yes). Buckingham Palace. The Tower Bridge. A million-floored bookstore. Harrods. Christmas in London. Love Actually. Europe on my doorstep. 

Maybe I have high hopes for this. Maybe I’m seeing myself as Reese Witherspoon in Wild and the UK & Europe is my trek across the USA.

Maybe it will be, maybe it won’t.

But it will be something, that I know.

(Counting down the days! Eeeee!)

x

7 thoughts on “LON-DON (calling).

  1. That’s so exciting! I’m traveling there in October but that’s all I can do at this point, so I’m just in awe about the fact that you’ve planned this. But I know you can do it! Would love to hear more about your preparations… and hey, maybe we’ll bump into each other there, who knows? ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

