introverts unite.

Recently, I’m starting to see the marriage between the extrovert and the introvert in me. The introvert has been coming out to say hello.

meportland

I follow an Introverts page on Facebook which has really interesting articles and stories regarding how introverts are, how they interact with others and how they aren’t all they are made out to be. I am outgoing, I like to talk to people, sometimes I don’t know when to shut up; but there are limits to that. If I go to a party, I will need quiet ‘me’ time the next day. I need at least half a day to myself every weekend.

This weekend, I went to 3 parties. It was a lot of fun, but exhausting! I was surrounded by people for most of the weekend, that today I spent most of the day sleeping, reading and watching movies in my room. I had to cancel plans with friends of mine to do this. I’m sorry guys, but I had to! I would overwhelm myself and probably because physically sick if I was around people for the whole weekend. Busy/people/talking = exhaustion.

As much as I have amazing memories of drinking games, Fat Bird Pinot Gris, BYO dinners, 21st birthday parties, Presidents & Assholes card game that I bossed, bonding with my workmates, I made the right decision.ย 

I have introvert qualities. Can many of you relate to this?

4 thoughts on “introverts unite.

  1. I completely relate! I have a tendency to hide in my cosy little room surrounded by the things I love and just being at peace with myself – I love to take solo walks and, whilst I used to love being out and about with friends regularly when I was in my teens – I much prefer being in my own company these days or with a select few people I can relax with. I have just cancelled two social outings in favour of relaxing and catching up with my creative writing in the half term holidays (something that has taken a back seat due to my exam prep!) And you know what? I don’t feel guilty one bit ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so the same! I love it! I had a busy few years, going to uni, making lots of friends etc but I really cherish my own time & space now ๐Ÿ™‚ Ooh creative writing! That’s awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not one to be alone, I dont lik my company very much, i think its the quietness and the emptiness of a room that frightens me.. If its quiet, I can hear my thoughts that I don’t want to hear…nothing dark but areas which I have learnt to open up with a certain persons company. I am not one to dominate a conversation, I tend to sit there and smile and casually nod my head. It’s not that I am not listening, I am, I just find it easier to listen to others as when i open my mouth I think I am repeating what has already been said. I do enjoy writing, Im thankful for someone who opened my eyes to the world of blogging again, i lost confidence in it, and im starting a collection of diarys and notepads that have many a thought or a rant on them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mmmm, I don’t often dominate conversation either – I really love to listen! And to just take in people, look at their mannerisms etc. I’mg lad you’re getting back into blogging! I really enjoy it. And I like the idea of diaries and notepads ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

