sweet seventeen.

I was walking home last night, listening to some 70s hit on my Spotify playlist (I finally went Premium, and it’s the best decision I’ve ever made – well, one of them…) and I was struck with a memory I haven’t thought of in a very long time.

When I was 17, my mother was my Valentine.

She drove to the store with nothing, and came back with a single yellow rose. She walked in the room, holding it out to me with that sweet smile. “Happy Valentines, love. Wait – I’m going to put a special song on. Just wait there.”

I heard her fiddling with the record player, until I heard the familiar lyrics crackling through the house.

“You got a cute way of talking…”

Leo Sayer’s “You Make Me Feel Like Dancing” is one of my mum & I’s songs. We boogied around the house that Valentine’s Day, the yellow rose in a vase on the bench.

She was the best Valentine I’ve ever had, my sweet mamma. I love her.

Lou x

377932_4701540341421_2047251347_n

Leave a Reply

