the way they met.

“This story is for every woman who may be panicking or feeling pressure because they’re in their late 20’s or 30’s and haven’t found the one. I’m sure you have a lot of friends who are married with kids and you feel like you’re running behind. Well I’m here to tell you NOT TO SETTLE. I was married in my mid-twenties. I definitely settled and knew it. I always tell people if there is even one single ounce of you that is telling you it’s not right, listen to that. That tiny feeling will not go away and will only continue to grow. Can you live with that feeling and pain every single day? You shouldn’t. And you deserve not to. There is someone out there for you even if you don’t find them until later in life. I was 30 by the time my divorce was settled. Shortly after, I was in a new relationship. After 2 months, I moved to Philadelphia for my new boyfriend so he could attend grad school. However, after our 2 year anniversary, I ended things. I realized that he wasn’t the one either and I wasn’t going to walk down the aisle again knowing it didn’t feel 100 percent right. At this point, I was 33 and decided to move to LA for MYSELF. I signed up for an online dating app and went on several dates but none that really excited me. Until I met Reid. We set our first date for drinks and the rest is history. After two weeks, I knew I didn’t want to date anyone else. Now 3.5 years later, we’re married and trying for a baby at 36! I think I realized Reid was the one the first time he did something that upset me. In my two other long-term relationships, there was always a lot of conflict and defensiveness if I brought up something that upset me. So I braced myself for the worse when I told Reid that I felt bothered and un-loved by one of his actions. His response was so understanding, apologetic, and filled with love. He made me feel like I had a true partner. This is something I had NEVER felt before and always longed for. Reid and I never fight! I’ve realized relationships shouldn’t be THAT hard- in fact, they should actually be pretty simple. Your partner is supposed to be the person who you tackle life’s hardships with not the one who creates them.”

I saw this beautiful post today on The Way We Met, a Facebook page sharing how people all over the world met their significant other. I am a huge fan of these kind of pages – I love seeing the many different ways that people come into contact with their love. How they collide in this place we call earth. Some ways are the epitome of fate, others are more ordinary, but nonetheless special.

This one really spoke to me. I’m a huge believer in not doing something just because you believe you have to. Taking time in love. Doing what you love, and what YOU want to do, and letting love and life happen in its wake.

This is a beautiful story, and I couldn’t help but share.

Lou x

Leave a Reply

